Getting Thick Punchy Kick

Visual and Audio delights of D*A*M and other such noise makers.

Moderator: The Captain

Tricalibur

Getting Thick Punchy Kick

Post by Tricalibur »

So how do you sound guys recommend getting a thick punchy kick sound? Massive bass EQing? Multi-band compressor? Whats the secret that I'm missing?
Sk10

Re: Getting Thick Punchy Kick

Post by Sk10 »

Tricalibur wrote:So how do you sound guys recommend getting a thick punchy kick sound? Massive bass EQing? Multi-band compressor? Whats the secret that I'm missing?
Live or in a recording setting?
Mic placement is a very important factor and the first step to get the sound you're aiming for.
terekhova

Post by terekhova »

There are loads of techniques, none of which I'm an expert in. However, here's an example of a trick using a speaker as a mic that seems to work for some people -
Chimp studio drum setup album demos '08
Chimp studio drum setup album demos '08
chimpstudio.jpg (491.15 KiB) Viewed 3080 times
cubba

Post by cubba »

Find a record where you like the kick sound and then set about finding out what drum they used and how it was mic'd.

I say this because there's lots of good kick sounds in many different music genres
and I think you'd do best knowing what sound you are looking for.
What gets me is all the tweaking,
just crank that bitch and be done with it! -- duende
Tricalibur

Post by Tricalibur »

Cool stuff, but I'm working more with pre-recorded midi drums, so suggestions for post-recording would be great.
Poorbob

Post by Poorbob »

Tricalibur wrote:Cool stuff, but I'm working more with pre-recorded midi drums, so suggestions for post-recording would be great.
:puke:

:hihi:
cubba

Post by cubba »

Tricalibur wrote:Cool stuff, but I'm working more with pre-recorded midi drums, so suggestions for post-recording would be great.
You can try pulling out some low-mids, say around 350hz with a parametric.
That makes more room for the bottom and sweetens it a bit.